• We were first introduced to the evolution series via some friends of ours who had recently finished building an evolution series home. We were amazed at the efficiency of the house and the warmth, we had been renting in Fernhill so warmth was high on our list of priorities and the power bills over $400 a month were getting old in winter ! We began our research into the evolution series and soon were ready to jump in boots and all (we had a baby on the way too !) During the design process we were continually surprised at the flexibility of the design process and the number of options which were available to us as standard. Mick was constantly keeping us up to date with new technology and potential options for our build while also appreciating our budget. The build process seemed to be over in the blink of an eye. Again we were very impressed at the amount of contact we had with Gary the project manager during the build. The continual communication meant we were included in all decisions no matter how big or small from light switches and taps to additional timber in the frame in case we wanted to hang large objects from the walls ! Any issues on site were professionally dealt with by the evolution team with no problems. We have been in our new house just over a month and have been completely blown away by the thermal efficiency of the house. The maxraft system works fantastically, as the concrete slab is still warm under foot at 10pm in the evening purely by passive heating. What has been a bonus has been the well being of our little toddler, in the previous property he consistently had runny noses and snuffles, but since we moved in there have been no repeats of the coughs and colds that he kept getting in the colder house. The layout of the house is user friendly, well thought out and feels larger than the footprint of the slab. So to sum up our build we ended up with a super warm super efficient house completed one week early and on a tight budget. A big thanks to the team at Rilean.

    Giulio and Ruth Chapman-Olla - 13/10/2014

  • Our Evolution Series home built by Rilean is excellent. We looked long and hard to find someone who could build us the house we wanted - with all the eco and energy saving design features we desired. Rilean ticked all our boxes and more, exceeding our expectations by taking our ideas and working them into their Evolution Series model. A quick 9 months later we are in our new ultra warm home, with all the benefits of their well researched energy saving building practices and expertise. The cost per metre was not only reasonable for the style, quality and energy efficiency we were looking for, but the project and site management provided by Mick, Gary and the team ensured the initial price was adhered to and the build went quickly. We were especially impressed with how we were able to be involved in all stages of the design and build process, which helped to make sure we got as close to what we wanted as possible. The team were professional and demonstrated exceptional problem solving skills that always put us, the client, first. Some of what we wanted was novel even for a cutting-edge firm like Rilean. The high-efficiency, low emission log-burner with wetback connected to our solar boosted hot water system and radiators to the distant parts of the house was approached by Rilean as an opportunity to try something new. It has worked a charm! Our desire for mixed, non-standard wall and ceiling linings was approach with similar enthusiasm. The low VOC polyurethaned plywood panels exude warmth and rustic style, complementing our ultra-insulated polished concrete floors. The above-code insulation, well-designed double-glazed windows, and super-functional bathrooms are all a complete delight. As a company Rilean were great to deal with. They take huge pride in their work and give the impression that only the best is good enough. Would we recommend Rilean? Absolutely! Jon Mitchell and Mary Rowland Queenstown New Zealand.

    Jon Mitchell and Mary Rowland - 16/07/2013

  • SOG 06 5404 09
    We are extremely pleased that on the advice of our architect, Mark Gray of Mark Gray Architects, we chose Rilean’s evolution team to build our new house. Evolutions’s philosophy of constructing eco friendly housing matched very well with our own need to live in a warm, energy efficient, healthy and affordable home to be achieved through the careful positioning of windows and the use of natural light. This will be achieved through the architect’s design and evolution’s construction skills. We have been very impressed with the way that Abbe, our selections consultant, has involved us through this process and has accommodated our requests for items such as the finish to the polished concrete floor in the living areas. Evolution has produced a schedule for the various stages of the build that has allowed us to plan our needs over the next few months. We have been pleased with the way Rilean Construction look after the safety of their employees and contractors working on site. Another feature of the building progress has been the tidiness of the site – no doubt contributing to the safety of all involved. However, the most impressive feature of this exciting process has been the three-way communication between evolution, our architect and us. Based on our experience so far we have no hesitation in recommending Rilean and their evolution team to anybody considering building an eco friendly home.

    Lionel and Betty Gray - 1/06/2013

  • JFK 1418 4
    When the opportunity to build in Queenstown arose for us, we had very specific objectives and parameters: we wanted a warm energy efficient home that had to fit within our budget. In addition, we were not living in Queenstown and needed someone we could trust to project manage the entire building process. After a number of recommendations, we decided to work with evolution series homes and we have not been disappointed. We met with Mick in June 2012, and together we worked to create a design that met our family’s needs. Communication was excellent at every level from Project Manager to Site Foreman. We were kept very well informed throughout the building and selection process - a truly great team to work with. We had a specific timeframe that we really needed to work within and the evolution team succeeded in completing the build on time, and on budget. The result is an absolutely wonderful family home which we love living in and has met all our objectives and expectations. We have no hesitation in recommending the evolution team to anyone.

    Sally Mingaye and Steve Hall - 31/05/2013

  • JFK 50221 15 Medium
    We met with Mick from the Rilean's Evolution team in 2012. Being overseas clients we wanted a team that we could trust and we were certainly impressed with the level of commitment and professionalism shown right from the day we met. The brief was for a low maintenance ‘lock up and leave’ home that had wow factor and would be warm in winter/cool in summer. Knowing our best interests were at heart, we subsequently appointed the team to provide a design and build proposal. Within 6 weeks we had a design and a very professional proposals outlining every aspect of the build right down to the very last detail. Within 12 months the evolution team had taken care of the design, all of the consents and had built our home incl all the landscaping ! Construction went very smoothly, and very quickly. We were always kept up to date with progress photographs or any vital questions that needed to be answered. Importantly, the build was on time, and on budget! The result is an exceptionally stylish, warm and energy efficient house we are really proud to call our home when we visit New Zealand. We’ll certainly be recommending the evolution team to our friends who intend to build in Queenstown or Christchurch.

    Jason Loveridge and Darrel and Laetitia Seeto - Australia, 16/05/2013

  • JFK 1826 16 Medium
    After a quick 7 month build Cristina and I took possession of our fantastic new home last week and already we are feeling the benefits of the energy efficient design. The house is so comfortable and warm as the early onset of winter arrives with a chilly minus 5 degrees outside at night. The evolution team were fantastic, from the concept and consent procedure right through to the high quality workmanship of all the tradesman working on the build. The evolution team did not disappoint us.

    Graham and Cristina Robinson - 7/05/2012

  • We were pleased to be able to appoint Rilean Construction to build our house in Arrowtown as we knew of their first class reputation, and we had heard glowing reports about the standard of their work and the professionalism of their approach to projects they undertake. From the beginning the skills of their specialized team, their attention to detail, their approachability and their commitment to completing the project on time were obvious." "We were fortunate, as overseas clients, that our architect and Rilean worked so efficiently together and this made the whole experience a very positive one for us. Although we could only visit the site once or twice during the construction of the house, we found the Rilean team very friendly and communicative and it was apparent to us that that all their tradesmen took a real pride and joy in their work." "As with any project such as ours there variations but these were well explained and were kept to a minimum – a welcome surprise!" "We developed an excellent rapport with Trevor Meikle , the Senior Project Manager, who was always available to communicate by phone or email. He is dedicated and proactive in his approach and has continued to help us with administrative matters even after the completion of the house." "Rilean completed the house on the date forecast and we would not hesitate to highly recommend them to others based on our experience. Their extremely professional management, their reliability, the degree of skill they brought to the project and the resulting harmony produced by this combination is evident in the beautiful house they have built for us.

    Diana and Peter Duncan - 8/11/2011

  • The evolution team made the whole building process very straightforward. They assisted us with a few design changes we wanted to make, and gave good advice on how well those changes would fit into the es2 design. Construction went very smoothly, and remarkably quickly. Nick and Tom on site were fantastic, always willing to answer questions we had, and they took great pride in their work. As a result of this the overall quality of the build was of a very high standard. Considering this was our first build, the whole project went very well, and the team at evolution always kept us up to date with progress. Mick and the rest of the team certainly made this possible. The result is an exceptionally warm and energy efficient house we are really proud to call our home.

    Jackie Burston - 18/07/2011

  • Rilean were engaged on a charge up basis and consistently delivered our monthly project reports on time and in enough detail that we were comfortable with our position at every stage of the build. I was happy that they were constantly working on our behalf to secure the best products at the best prices and on the odd occasion when they were let down by their suppliers or subcontractors, were quick to react in our favour. The oversight provided by Gary Dent also gave us great comfort and helped to achieve an improved product by bringing his years of experience to several critical stages of the process. I can highly recommend Rilean Construction to any prospective building partner.

    Tristan Franklin, Managing Director - Control 4 NZ - 11/10/2010

  • We have been involved with Rilean Construction since 1999 on numerous projects throughout the Wakatipu Basin. The nature and complexity of these projects has been quite diverse. Rilean have at all times, acted in a professional manner and executed these projects timely and efficiently. Quality Control is fundamental in their approach to projects. Whenever any difficulties or problems have been encountered, the resolution process has been based on open and frank dialogue with resultant outcomes more than satisfactory to all parties. Careful planning and programming of projects has lead to effective delivery. We have no hesitation in recommending Rilean Construction for building and construction projects.

    David Stringer - Registered Architect - 8/10/2010

  • placemakers
    I’d like to say a big thanks to you, Steve, and particularly Craig and his boys for doing such a great job on our fit out and being so great to work with. I know we held you up on a few items – leaving things to cut pretty fine, but you’ve all been fantastic and great help to get it all across the line for us. I’m so glad your team were around to work on our showroom.

    Thanks, Karla

    Karla Mangos, Mico & Placemakers, Fit Out Project Manager, - Queenstown, 20/10/2016

  • Huge thanks to you and your team for the delivery of this project. Your professionalism throughout the re-development has been appreciated and we will not hesitate to recommend Rileans as a preferred main contractor for any future work, we may undertake on behalf of our management portfolio.

    The building looks superb!

    Anita Brosnan, Property & Project Manager for Maori Hill Properties - Dunedin, 15/10/2016

  • We are very, very happy with the completed buildings, which had to fit in with the look of the existing ones. Gary Dent, is truly exceptional and invaluable, leading his team and producing a high quality result.

    Greg Hunt, Gibbston Valley Wines, CEO - Gibbston Valley, Queenstown - 15/12/16

  • DSCN1691
    In 2016 Rilean Construction designed and built ten houses for Queenstown Lakes Community Housing Trust (QLCHT). The project was delivered within the specified time frame and on budget. I particularly appreciated the excellent communication and organisational skills of the Contract Manager, who’s attention to detail was second to none. Overall we were very happy with the end product and thank Rilean for the good job.

    Julie Scott, Executive Officer - Queenstown Lakes Community Housing Trust, 2016

  • JFK 5885 22 Medium
    "We found Rilean to be be a very effective partner while collaborating on 22 Hallenstein Apartments. The construction of these seventeen luxury residential apartments started in January 2013 after over a year of land acquisition, planning and preparation. The building of the apartments went smoothly thanks to Rilean Construction. They were transparent in their processes and tendering and they are a very easy-to-deal-with company whom we are using for another project as we speak."

    Tim Medland, Developer-Aedifice Limited - Queenstown, 2018

  • exterior photoshopped
    I'm really happy about this project and would be happy to do a new one with Rilean, which I’m sure will happen in the near future. The excellent project management meant the process was smooth and we were pleased with their ability to plan out a satisfying timeframe which the team kept to. Working with a company that offers full services, including Quantity Surveyors, ensures sharp and accurate pricing. The final outcome shows quality workmanship and we are really pleased with the entire project. Thank you to the whole team!

    Francois Beziac-Aedifice Limited - Queenstown, 2018

  • Debbie and dog
    I love my home!

    I love that the whole house is warm in the depths of winter. I love that it’s energy efficient and I love its eco friendly features. We were overseas for the entire build process, which could have been a nightmare. But thanks to our awesome building team, whose eye for detail and quality workmanship was second to none, we came back to a top quality home that has a fantastic feel to it and is very easy to live in. Would I recommend Rilean and Evolution? – Most definitely!

    Debbie Anderson - Queenstown, 2017

  • the glenorchy marketplace project general manager cropped
    "I found working with the Evolution team to be a positive experience. The project was well resourced and well administered. The project flowed well with the builder able to draw on Rilean's subcontractor resources. The building team did a great job, with a quality finish and they achieved excellent air tightness test results."

    Steve Hewland, Project & Operations General Manager

    Camp Glenorchy, Headwaters - Staff Accommodation

    Steve Hewland, Project & Operations General Manager - Glenorchy, Queenstown

  • website exterior4
    When building in Jacks Point, we were impressed by Evolution's approach to energy efficiency in the design and construction of their houses. This triggered us to consider more carefully the eco-credentials of the house, and they introduced us to the Homestar rating process. Reading through the specifications actually made us think about how we could make relatively small changes all the way through the design, specification and build processes to increase the energy efficiency of the house in incremental ways that added up to a significant whole. Evolution and our Homestar Assessor Annabelle Numaguchi came on this journey with us and were happy to try new things with us in the build process. During the assessment, Annabelle was careful to work with us on identifying the features we'd chosen that would contribute to the rating and suggesting areas that can help in the assessment that we'd maybe not previously considered.

    Overall we achieved a rating that we are very pleased with, plus we have a house that is warm, comfortable and efficient to run."

    Guy Lloyd - Jack's Point, Queenstown, August 2018